You are here

Honors Convocation

Faculty, staff and students filled the Assembly Hall on March 18 for the 2013 Honors Convocation. The ceremony is held annually to recognize faculty and staff for their outstanding achievements. The speaker for the convocation was Mrs. Julie Lasley, the 2012 Rose Y. Temple Distinguished Faculty Member followed by the Deans of the Divisions providing the accomplishments for their faculty. The Vice President of Human Resources provided special remarks for staff.

Special awards were presented by Dr. Betty Sue McGarvey, president of Baptist College. The 2013 Rose Y. Temple Distinguished Staff Member was awarded to Denise Bowman. Also, the 2013 Rose Y. Temple Distinguished Faculty Member was awarded to Judy LaBonte in abstentia as she was defending her dissertation on Monday. 

Dr. Anne Plumb, dean of Nursing, presented the 2013 DAISY Award to Tracey Power, instructor for the Nursing division.