You are here

Honor Society of Nursing

Honor Society of Nursing

The Honor Society of Nursing is Sigma Theta Tau International, whose mission is to support the learning, knowledge, and professional development of nurses committed to making a difference in health worldwide. It was founded in 1922 by six nurses in Indianapolis, Indiana, and its name is taken from the Greek letters meaning "love," "courage," and "honor." Today, there are more than 400,000 members in 86 countries.

Membership in Sigma Theta Tau is by invitation, and undergraduate students must meet specific criteria that include:

  • Completion of half of the nursing curriculum.
  • Achievement of academic excellence, defined as a grade point average of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 system.
  • Rank in the upper 35 percentile of the graduating class.
  • Demonstration of academic integrity.

The baccalaureate nursing program holds membership in Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing as a Charter Member of Beta Theta Chapter-at-Large, founded in 1972 by the University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center. The chapter was rechartered in 1988 when the University of Memphis joined, and again in 2006 when Baptist College of Health Sciences joined. Today, the chapter has more than 500 active members.

Additional information may be found at the following sites:

Baptist College inductees into Sigma Theta Tau International

Learn more about: